IEEE 2008 Winter Vision Meetings



WACV 2008

WACV Deadlines:
Abstracts Sept 21 (8pm MDT).
Papers Sept 24 (8pm MDT)
Papers decision Oct 22.
Camera Ready copy Dec. 1


WACV
Web site   Co-chairs

George Stockman
Suchi Bhandarkar
Wesley Snyder
WACV Deadlines:
Abstract Submission
  Sept 21 (8pm MDT).
Paper Submissoin
  Sept 24 (8pm MDT)
Papers decision Oct 22.
Camera Ready copy due
  December 1, 2007

Motion
Web site   Co-chairs

Visvanathan Ramesh
Qiang Ji

Motion Deadlines:
Paper Submission
  Sept 24 (8pm MDT).
Papers decision Oct 26.
Camera Ready copy due
  December 1, 2007
Motion Camera-Ready
Submission Site

VISN
Web site   Co-chairs

Hii Cheng
Niels Haering Inc
Kamesh Namuduri
VISN Deadlines:
Papers Due Sept 30
Notification Nov 5
Camera Ready Due Dec 1.

IEEE 2008 Workshop on Application of Computer Vision WACV 2008

IEEE 2008 Workshop on Application of Computer Vision WACV 2008


WACV 2008 Final Program

Computer Vision has become increasingly important in real world systems for commercial, industrial and military applications. Computer Vision related technologies have started migrating from academic institutions to industrial laboratories, and onward into deployable systems. The goal of this workshop is to bring together an international cadre of academic, industrial, and government researchers, and companies applying vision techniques.

Topics include (but are not limited to )
    Industrial Inspection/Manufacturing
    Face Detection
    Face Recognition
    Fingerprints
    Biometrics Fusion
    Road/Traffic Analysis
    3D modeling
    Image-based Rendering for Entertainment
    Motion/Stereo processing/segmentation
    Real-time Tracking
    Graphics Recognition/Engineering Drawings
    Classification/Recognition
    Human Motion Analysis/Capture
    Document Analysis
    Security/Surveillance
    Gesture/Hand Recognition
    Medical Analysis
    Augmented Reality
    Performance Evaluation (of any vision application)
    Human-Computer Interaction
    Scientific Imaging Applications
    Visual Navigation and Station Keeping
    Robotics Applications
    Image/Video Indexing and Retrieval
    Vision for Entertainment
    Perception Aids for the Handicapped
    Underwater Industrial Applications

     

The workshop will have 6 page papers in the proceedings which may be presented as either oral and poster presentations (extra pages will be $100 a page). The workshop, in conjunction with IEEE MOTION and IEEE VISN, will also have a demonstration session. The WACV proceedings will be published by IEEE and will be indexed in IEEExplore.

In an effort to get more applications companies involved, this year's WACV will have a "Development" abstract track where companies can submit a 1-2 page abstract of their vision related product or services. These will be reviewed by a subset of the program committee, but not held to the same scientific/research standards of a full paper. Rather they are meant to help introduce the community to the product or application space. Abstracts maybe selected for either oral or poster presentation. Abstracts (from either demos or products) will be included in the CD-Rom proceedings, but not in the printed proceeding (or indexed).

WACV Deadlines:


Abstract Submission   Sept 21 (8pm MDT).
Paper Submissoin   Sept 24 (8pm MDT)
Papers decision Oct 22. Camera Ready copy due
  December 1, 2007

Meeting Dates

  • WACV: Jan 7-9 2008
And there are no exception to the dates as we have cut all the timing as close as possible. (E.g. For comparison CVPRs deadline is 8 months before event, our is only 6 months)

Expanding the format from past WACV workshops, in an effort to get more applications companies involved, this year WACV will have a "Development" abstract track, were companies can submit a 1-2 page abstract of their vision related product or services. These will be reviewed by a subset of the program committee, but not held to the same scientific/research standards of a full paper. Rather they are meant to help introduce the community to the product or application space. Abstracts maybe selected for either oral or poster presentation. Abstracts (from either demos or products) will be included in the CD-Rom proceedings, but not in the printed proceeding (or indexed).


**NOTE: While we have a diverse PC the amount of reviewing would be too large without added reviewers. To help ensure a broad pool, we are instituting a true peer reviewing policy. For each paper submitted, the authors of that paper will also considers reviewers and will be responsible for providing reviews of 3 papers (per paper submitted). If there are multiple authors they can spread out that reviewing, but for every paper submitted is responsible for 3 reviews, or that paper will automatically be rejected. (This policy does not apply to the abstracts, just full papers. But we encourage abstract submitters to sign-up as reviewers as well).

Program Committee

Anup Basu, Univ.of Alberta, anup@cs.ualberta.ca
Gustavo Carneiro, Siemens Corporate Research, gustavo.carneiro@siemens.com
Sharat Chandran, IIT-Bombay, sharat@cse.iitb.ac.in
Subhasis Chaudhuri, IIT-Bombay, sc@ee.iitb.ac.in
Dirk Colbry, Arizona State University, dirk@colbry.com
Ahmed Elgammal, Rutgers University, elgammal@cs.rutgers.edu
Arthur Goshtasby, Wright State University, agoshtas@cs.wright.edu
Robert Higgins, Boeing, robert.p.higgins@boeing.com
C.V. Jawahar, IIIT-Hyderabad, jawahar@iiit.ac.in
Robert A Kaucic, GE Global Research, kaucic@crd.ge.com
Marie-Pierre Jolly, Siemens Corporate Research, marie-pierre.jolly@siemens.com
Yanxi Liu, Penn State University, yanxi@cse.psu.edu
Jiebo Luo, Kodak Research, jiebo.luo@kodak.com
Xingzhi Luo, NVIDIA Corp., xluo@nvidia.com
Anoop M. Namboodiri, IIIT-Hyderabad, anoop@iiit.ac.in
Sarath Pankanti, IBM Watson, sharat@us.ibm.com
Bahram Parvin, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, b_parvin@lbl.gov
Robert Pless, Washington University-St. Louis, pless@cse.wustl.edu
Fatih Porikli, MERL, fatih@merl.com
Kuntal Sengupta, MERL, sengupta@merl.com
Terence Sim, National University of Singapore, tsim@comp.nus.edu.sg
Richard Souvenir, UNC-Charlotte, souvenir@uncc.edu
Chris Stauffer, BAE Systems, chris.stauffer@baesystems.com
Gideon Stein, MobilEye Inc., gideon.stein@mobileye.com
Rahul Sukthankar, Intel Research, rahul.sukthankar@intel.com
Kenneth Tobin, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, tobinkwjr@ornl.gov
Peter Tu, GE Global Research, tu@research.ge.com
David Zhang, Sarnoff Corp., dzhang@sarnoff.com
Dr. Swarup Medasani, Hughes Research Lab, ssmedasani@hrl.com
Dr. Arun Hampapur, IBM Watson Research Center, arunh@us.ibm.com
Dr. Rajeev Ramanath, Texas Instruments, rramanath@ti.com
IEEElogo

Sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society, Technical Committee on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (PAMI) with organizational support provided by Colorado Institute for Technology Transfer and Implementation, UCCS BI program and Securics

If you encounter any problems or have comments/suggestions regarding this website please email wvm08@vast.uccs.edu
© Copyright T. Boult 2007 VAST Lab, U. Colorado at Colorado Spring